Gluten-Free Creole Cajun Au Gratin

My husband is what I call a “Celiac Supporter.” Our house is 100% gluten-free. Due to my intense cross-contamination complications, we even ask our guests to leave their gluten at the door. The good news is, that our appliances were brand new when we moved in, so they have only had 100% gluten-free foods in them. This being said, when my husband gets the chance to eat out of the house, gluten is ALWAYS on his mind! So much so in fact, he has jokingly had a full conversation with a basket of bread at Longhorn (which has a FANTASTIC gluten-free menu, by the way.)

My husband works in Audio/Visual equipment rentals. His offices rent nationally for conferences, concerts, events, etc. At times they need to leave the office to drop off equipment, set up a show, etc. and will grab lunch out of the office. Being the amazingly supportive husband he is, he always does two things: #1. Checks for a gluten-free menu, or gluten-free options; and #2. He sends me a picture of whatever delicious, glutenous concoction he’s ordered. Sometimes it sounds and looks so delicious that all I want to do is try it. Well, as those of you with Autoimmune Diseases, Intolerances, or Food Allergies know, we can’t always have what we want without paying for it dearly. That’s where my fun begins! First, I ask: What was in it? I study his photos intently. I read the description on the restaurant’s menu. Then, I begin to write my recipe, making it gluten-free, sulfite-free, MSG-free, and as little Lactose as possible. Next is my favorite part: The taste test. Of course, as a Celiac with multiple intolerances, I’m happy just eating anything. The REAL test begins when my husband tries it. If someone without dietary restrictions can’t taste a difference, and still thinks it is just as good (if not better,) then you know you have a hit!

This is how it all started with this next dish, the Creole Cajun Au Gratin. His description was “Potatoes, Andouille, Spicy, and Cheesy.” Not too much for me to go off of. So there I was in the supermarket, Smartphone in hand, looking at his picture, and going off his memory of a dish from 2 months ago, trying to create my own gluten-free recipe. I am so glad I did! It is absolutely DELICIOUS! It is hearty, spicy, and cheesy. We both loved it (and he agreed it was just as good as the non gluten-free version.) Now my husband doesn’t like a lot of heat, so this is a very MILD version. If you like heat, feel free to add Cajun Seasoning to each component (instead of just the potatoes.) I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

If you have any other dish you have been dying to try, that is not inherently gluten-free, feel free to email me at: theglutenfreewife@gmail.com, and I’ll be happy to take a look at it. All I need is the name of the dish, the restaurant it is located, a photo (if available,) and I will be happy to give it a try for you (be sure to include your intolerances in your email.)

Here it is…The amazingly spicy, cheesy, and absolutely yummy GLUTEN-FREE, SULFITE-FREE, and MSG-FREE Creole Cajun Au Gratin!

Equipment: Baking Sheet, Aluminum Foil, 1 Gallon Ziploc Bag, Skillet, Medium Sauce Pot

Ingredients:

Sausage:
1 Package Gluten-free Andouille Sausage, sliced on the bias/angle or coins (***I used Aidells Brand, and both times had a reaction-though labeled gluten-free!)
1/2 cup Yellow Onion Sliced
3 Cloves Garlic Minced
1 Green Bell Pepper Sliced
1 6oz Package Gluten-free Canadian Bacon (I use Jones Brand)
Potatoes:
3 Medium-Large Russet/Idaho Potatoes
1 1/2 tbsp. Cajun Seasoning  (McCormick is what I used with no reaction- a lot of seasonings contain wheat/cross-contamination)
3/4 cup Olive Oil
1 Gallon Ziploc Bag
2017-03-29 10.39.35
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com
My Cheese Sauce (also used for a delicious gluten-free “Alfredo”):
1/4 cup Chives
1 cup Fresh Italian Parsley (if you can’t find flat leaf, curly will suffice.)
 4 Cloves Garlic Minced
1 8oz pig Softened Cream Cheese (I use Greek Yogurt/Cream Cheese Blend)
1 stick Butter or Margarine
1/2-1 cup Milk (to thin sauce to desired consistency)
1 c Freshly Shredded White Cheese of Choice (I use 3/4 cup Gruyere and 1/4 cup Gouda)
1 tbsp. #1 Seasoning Blend  (or Cajun Seasoning for a Medium-Spicy Sauce)
1/2 tsp Annatto Seasoning (for coloring) ***leave out if using as an Alfredo
Directions:
Potatoes:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Scrub Potatoes. Slice Vertically, down the center, then cut into cubes. Put into Ziploc.
3. Stir Cajun Seasoning and Olive Oil together. Pour into Ziploc, seal bag, Shake until every potato is coated evenly.
***If more Olive Oil/Seasoning is needed to coat all Potatoes, repeat step 3.
4. Cover Baking Sheet with aluminum foil. Spray with non-stick cooking spray. Place Potatoes in single layer on baking sheet.
5. Bake for 30-40 minutes, flipping potatoes over every 10 minutes.
Sauce:
1. Melt Butter on Medium-Low Heat.
2. Add #1 Seasoning Blend/Cajun Seasoning (if adding extra heat,) Chopped Chives, Chopped Parsley, and Minced Garlic.
3. Add Cream Cheese in cubes, stir consistently until melted, and incorporated into butter.
4. Shred Cheeses. Stir into Sauce. It will be really thick and Cheesy. Add Milk to thin it out. Keep adding Milk 1/4-1/2 cup at a time, slowly, stirring vigorously, until desired consistency is reached. Reduce Heat to Low.
5. Add 1/2 of the cooked Canadian Bacon. Cook 5-8 minutes until all Cheese is melted and Sauce is at desired consistency. Stir frequently.
Sausage:
1. Place Peppers and Onions in Skillet over Medium Heat.
2. You will cook until Onions opaque and Peppers softened, stirring frequently to be sure they won’t burn. Cook 5 minutes.
3. Add Garlic, Chopped Canadian Bacon, and Andouille Sausage. Cook additional 5 minutes.
4. Flip Sausage. Cook last 5 minutes. (If the Onions, Peppers, and Garlic begin over cooking/burning, remove them while you finish cooking the Sausage.)
creole cajun au gratin
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com
Plating:
1. Toss the Potatoes with the Peppers, Onions, Remaining Canadian Bacon, Garlic, and Andouille Sausage.
2. Top with Cheese Sauce.
3. Enjoy!!!
Leave a Reply

