Gluten-Free Slow-Roasted Succulent Ribs

 

I grew up in a suburb of Kansas City, Missouri. For those of you who don’t know, this is one of the barbeque capitols of the world. One of my fondest memories was summertime when my father would grill out or smoke up some AMAZING barbeque. I absolutely LOVE barbeque! It’s perfect for picnics, pool parties, tailgating, potlucks, or just a normal weeknight dinner with the family. My father and I would drive down the street, back home in KC, and I would say “I smell…” and he’d say “Barbeque!” It was a common scent on the streets back home. Kansas City is known for its amazing barbeque, so if you ever find yourself passing through or visiting, be sure to check it out. It has its own distinct flavors different from Tennessee, North Carolina, and traditional Southern barbeque. It is defined by slowly smoked meats, over a variety of woods, in a thick tomato and molasses based sauce. I find myself comparing every barbeque to that of Kansas City. Up until now, I don’t think mine has ever held a candle, but I think I’m finally starting to compete! Now, because my husband and I currently reside in an apartment community, we have shared grilling equipment. Due to cross-contamination, I oven-bake all my proteins. We were lucky to get a brand new oven (due to a newly renovated apartment,) so our oven has only serviced 100% gluten-free foods. You’ll find that this recipe is for Slow-Roasted, Oven-Baked Ribs. This provides the ribs with the most succulent, moist, and most tender meat you could imagine. Sometimes when you grill ribs, they end up a little tough, so I suggest even with a gluten-free grill, stick with the oven first to see if you prefer this method. I’ve already given you my Pulled Pork Recipe (Slow Roasted Pork) which is perfect for nearly any Pork dish, whether the dish calls for Barbeque, Mexican, or Roast…but I have to say, these Ribs are to die for! So whip out the foil, seasoning, your favorite sauce, and get ready to set-it-and-forget-it. As always, enjoy the tasty life with the gluten-free wife <3!

Equipment: Baking Sheet, Aluminum Foil, Basting Brush and Turkey Baster (though not necessary)

Ingredients:
St Louis Ribs (Seen above and below)
Or
Baby Back Ribs
My #1 Seasoning Blend
Your Favorite BBQ Sauce- I use Fox Bros, local to Georgia, Gluten and Sulfite-free (if GF, make sure no Worcestershire or Soy Sauce in it-both made with WHEAT!)

16788729_1715378052086298_4475722128523526144_n1
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com

Or you may use this as a barbeque sauce (it also makes a mean Sloppy Joe Sauce!)
1 lg shallot minced
1 1/2 cups ketchup
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Gluten-Free Worcestershire sauce (regular is made with WHEAT!)

slab of ribs
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 250°.
2. Wrap Baking sheet in aluminum foil.
3. Place ribs on separate sheet of foil (to wrap around when finished,) season abundantly with My #1 Seasoning Blend on both sides, and rub into meat.
4. Paste sauce onto both sides (leaving enough sauce leftover to top ribs for last 30 mins of baking time.)
4. Place ribs meat side down onto foil and wrap tightly.
5. Place onto baking sheet, and into oven for 3.5-4 hours for baby back ribs or 4.5-5 hours for St. Louis Style.
6. Take out last 30 mins, place meat side up, unwrap foil (careful- will be extremely HOT,) pour remaining sauce and bake final 30 mins.
7. Let rest for 30 mins and ENJOY!

*Check ribs every 45 mins to be sure sauce/liquid is not filling baking sheet. You may have to use a turkey baster to drain liquid from pan to prevent overflow of liquid.

**Picture (seen on top of page) Ribs were served with Scrumptious Slaw.

IMG_20170314_194319_093
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com
Leave a Reply

