Gluten-Free Killer Yellow Cake

Image result for let us eat cakeWhen I first was diagnosed, the hardest hurdle to get over was the taste (or lack there of) of gluten-free food. Most of the time, the pre-prepared meals/boxed mixes were awful. They tasted like energy bars (and not the good ones!) So I made it my mission to create the best cake recipe I possibly could. First one I tried a certain brand of flour that my husband thought was the worst thing he’d ever put in his mouth (I’m not blogging to bad-mouth certain companies, but to suggest the best, so I will not name the less tasty ones.) So, as my favorite saying goes…”Never give up. Never surrender.” I dusted myself off and tried again. Once I found Trader Joe’s, it was like the heavens opened up and the light had shined down from above. #1. They make a Gluten-free ALL-PURPOSE flour, so it can be used for EVERYTHING! #2. It is in a PINK bag, so it is extremely hard to miss. And finally, #3. It is only roughly $3.99, so it is EXTREMELY affordable, which considering how much we have to spend monthly on groceries to stay safe and healthy, it makes life that much easier! So, now I have my flour, I’m going to try again…and this time, it worked!! The perfect consistency, the perfect moisture, and the perfect amount of sweetness. I think my husband was even more excited than I was to know he didn’t have to sample any more “alternative” cakes. Now that I had my “base cake” I began to explore a little. I added fruit (lemon and blueberries) into the mixture, and made a glaze to pour over the top…glorious. I hope you enjoy this cake as much as I have these last few years. If you decide to get ambitious with it, as well, please comment below with what you’ve added to it? I’d love to try it! Please be sure to check out my Tres Leches Recipe as well! It is made with the same “base cake” as listed below, and can be made dairy-free, who would’ve guessed?!

Equipment: Stand Mixer with Paddle or Whisk Attachment (or Large Bowl with Electric Handheld Mixer)

Ingredients for Standard Yellow Cake Base:
1 cup White Sugar
1/4 cup Brown Sugar
1/2 cup Butter
1 tsp Vanilla
1 tbsp Honey
5 Eggs
1 1/2 cups flour mixed
1 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp baking powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Soften Butter and add to mixing bowl. Whisk in both White and Brown Sugars until smooth. Add Vanilla and Honey and whisk until incorporated.
  3. Add Eggs 1 at a time, mixing thoroughly, until well incorporated, before adding the next Egg.
  4. In separate bowl, add Flour, Xanthan gum, and baking powder, and incorporate.
  5. Add a few tbsps at a time to Sugar/Egg mixture, incorporating completely, before adding next tbsps (until all incorporated.)
  6. Spray 9×13 glass (preferably, or metal if no glass available) baking dish with non-stick spray and pour batter in. Smooth the top with a rubber spatula (or butter knife.) (I now “hit” the dish on the floor a few times to remove the air bubbles.)
  7. Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until a toothpick can be inserted into the center of the cake and comes out clean (no crumbs on it.)

Ingredients for Lemon-Blueberry Cake:

*Same as Standard Yellow Cake Plus:
1 tbsp. Lemon Zest
2 cups Fresh Blueberries
Glaze:
1/3 c Fresh Lemon Juice
1/3 c Sugar (Mix/add more sugar until desired sweetness)
1 tbsp. Honey

 

20150805_134300
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Soften Butter and add to mixing bowl. Whisk in both White and Brown Sugars until smooth. Add Vanilla and Honey and whisk until incorporated.
  3. Add Eggs 1 at a time, mixing thoroughly, until well incorporated, before adding the next Egg.
  4. In separate bowl, add Flour, Xanthan gum, and baking powder, and incorporate.
  5. Add a few tbsps at a time to Sugar/Egg mixture, incorporating completely, before adding next tbsps (until all incorporated.)
  6. Mix in Lemon Zest thoroughly.
  7. Spray 9×13 glass (preferably, or metal if no glass available) baking dish with non-stick spray and pour batter in. Smooth the top with a rubber spatula (or butter knife.)
  8. Drop Blueberries evenly over the mixture. (I now “hit” the dish on the floor a few times to remove the air bubbles, and sink the berries towards the middle.) Squeeze Honey over the top of the batter for added sweetness (if desired.)
  9. Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until a toothpick can be inserted into the center of the cake and comes out clean (no crumbs on it.)
  10. For the Glaze, Warm Lemon Juice, Sugar, and Honey over Medium-Low heat, until sugar is dissolved. Taste to be sure desired sweetness is achieved. If not, add more sugar (May use Agave/Honey substitute for sugar.) Most glazes call for powdered sugar, but I’m not looking for a hardened glaze, just a shimmer/flavor booster. I find that powdered sugar gives an artificial flavor, so I prefer real sugar. The choice is yours though!
  11. When the cake is finished, cool for 15 mins. Poke holes every inch with toothpick. Pour glaze over cake.

 

 

20150805_151531
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

