Gluten-Free Perfect Pico

 

One of the many

pico
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com

hurdles you run into, as an individual with Celiac Disease, is not being able to purchase bottled sauces, marinades, dips, etc. There are very few pre-made products that I am able to consume that are sulfite-free, gluten-free, and MSG-free (I am one of the lucky lactose-intolerants, who can take a lactose enzyme to help digest lactose-THANK GOODNESS-I love my cheese!) This is mainly a problem when someone wants to cook for you. My brother-in-law went to culinary school (an amazing Chef,) and is new to gluten-free cooking, thanks to his gluten-free sis. I know he’s learning, and tries so hard to accommodate me; however, I feel like such a burden every time I have to ask him to make everything from scratch (instead of being able to buy a bottle and pour it in.) One product that I have a problem with is salsa, so I have created this fresh “Perfect Pico” de Gallo recipe which can be used in its place. I’ve used it in every Nacho, Taco, Burrito, Party Dip, etc. recipe. The best part is that you can make it as spicy as you like it!

Equipment: Food Processor (though not necessary)

Ingredients:

1/4 tsp ground mustard
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp celery salt
1/4 tsp paprika
1 tsp lime juice
2 oz rice vinegar
1 oz olive oil
1 tbsp sweet chili sauce
3 cloves garlic (minced)
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
1 can southwest style (or fiesta) corn
2 Roma tomatoes

Directions:

  1. Whisk all liquid ingredients for Pico de Gallo with dry seasonings,
  2. Chop Tomatoes, Chop Cilantro, Mince Garlic, and Drain Corn.
  3. Toss all together with liquid ingredients.
  4. Serve with your favorite chips, or atop your favorite dish!

*May add Crushed Red Pepper, Jalapeno, or Pepper of choice for added spice/flavor depending on desired heat level.

six-layer-mojo-dip
theglutenfreewifedotblog.wordpress.com
Leave a Reply

